Home

20140326-125246.jpg

Since this blog’s incarnation I have been all eat and no rockstar. So here is a song I entered into a national new artist competition.

“J’essayais” is French for “I tried.” This song is about the helplessness of sexual assault. I balanced raw lyrics (“J’essayais to go, to say no, to plead, to cry”) with a childlike, sing-song chorus (“you’ll never get me, you’ll never catch me”) inspired by playground games.

Music has transformative powers – here, taking something brutal and making it pretty. Making art out tragedy has had a transformative impact on me, too. Seeing my own handprint, however scarred, is a self-affirming act.

Listen and vote for me! (Arsoniste)

Leave a Reply

